What can one experience here?

  • Walking


  • Cycling


  • This district in Leuven was home to the Beguines until the 19th century. 
  • The number of Beguines never reached more than 100 and quickly diminished after the French Revolution. 
  • The church was demolished in the 19th century and, in 1954, the infirmary had to make way for the expansion of the Stella Artois brewery. 
  • After some thorough restoration the houses were repainted in white and sold off to private owners. 
  • About thirty houses still remain from the original beguinage in the traditional Flemish style.
  • Klein Begijnhof (©Toerisme Vlaams-Brabant)
  • Klein Begijnhof (©Toerisme Vlaams-Brabant)

Small Beguinage

Halfmaartstraat z/n,
3000 Leuven (Leuven)
Tel. +32 16 20 30 20