What can one experience here?

  • Walking

    Walking

  • Cycling

    Cycling

  • The beguinage was founded in 1253 by Arnold IV, Lord of Diest, and was dissolved by the French in 1796.
  • The majority of the 90 houses and convents date back to the 17th and 18th century. 
  • The beautiful baroque beguinage gate dates back to 1671.
  • The beguinage church is built of ironstone and is dedicated to Saint Catharina.
  • On the 1st Sunday of every month there is a book and antiques market.
  • 'Xaverius' house is home to the Flemish Centre for Food and Dining culture, with its herb garden, culinary museum and library.
  • Begijnhof Diest (©Lander Loeckx)
  • Begijnhof Diest (©Lander Loeckx)
  • Begijnhof Diest (©Lander Loeckx)

Beguinage Diest

Begijnenstraat z/n,
3290 Diest (Diest)
Tel. +32 13 35 32 74

www.toerismediest.be